PDA

View Full Version : Cabalonline.nl highjacked by competitor



Blackat
06-08-2007, 10:36
just letting you know
www.cabalonline.nl has been highjacked by competitor (MARTIAL HEROES). .NL is the dutch extention.
To my knowledge this is illegal in the netherlands so feel free to sew them bigtime as companies can only register names that are applicable for their own company. (the name of someone elses game is NOT apllicable as your own website!)

hope you can spank them
gl
Blackat

SinergyX
06-08-2007, 11:24
If you check http://www.who.is/whois-nl/ip-address/cabalonline.nl/, you see its not nicked by them, but by some dutch company who just forwards the domain.

www.cabal-online.com is also some advertising page, happens :)

Blackat
06-08-2007, 14:22
yes but .nl is not free for all like a .com in the netherlands .nl company registration and brand registration is required. This is done to prevent this type of hijacking! If cabal would complain about to the right instance the other company would be forced to comply!

In other words with a .NL domain , a company must prove they have a legitimate use for the domain name. Highjacking a competitor's name is NOT legitimate reason :)